Federal Legal Holidays Definition | Government Holidays

Payroll Definitions

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Federal Legal Holidays Definition

Federal legal holidays are day offs declared by the U.S. federal government that are exclusive only to its employees. Other holidays are left to the discretion of the individual state jurisdiction.

Federal Legal Holidays Extended Definition
The U.S. has not assigned specific days that all employees receive as a mandatory holiday. Instead, the federal government recognizes a holiday schedule that is applicable to its employees. Additionally, each state and local jurisdiction can declare its own holiday schedule. The U.S. federal government has declared 11 federal legal holidays, ten occurring annually and one on a quadrennial basis.

Related Article
How Familiar Are You With Federal Legal Holidays? | Patriot Software

Last Updated By

Jenna Hutkowski | Apr 14, 2023

Back to Top