Missouri minimum wage earners will now make $7.35 an hour when the state minimum wage goes up on Jan. 1, 2013.
The current minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as the federal minimum wage. Missouri is one of 10 states that tie minimum wage increases to changes in the Consumer Price Index (CPI), a measure of inflation.
Missouri employers who run retail or service businesses and gross less than $500,000 annually are exempt from the law.
For tipped employees, the total of wages and tips must equal at least $7.35 an hour. Employers must pay at least 50 percent of the minimum wage ($3.675) to tipped employees. If the employee does not make enough in tips to equal $7.35, the employer must pay more than half to bring the wage up to the state minimum.
Employers can download the required Missouri minimum wage poster from the Missouri Dept. of Labor and Industrial Relations.
Patriot Software, LLC developes online software for American small businesses.