A new year often brings changes in IRS regulations, taxes … and minimum wage rates. In California, workers will have to wait until July 1, 2014, before they see their increase in the minimum wage.
Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage in California will increase to $9.00 per hour. The next minimum wage increase for California has already been set: $10.00 per hour goes into effect in 2016.
Please note that some individual cities have set higher minimum wage rates. Effective January 1, 2014, the cities of San Francisco, CA ($10.74/hr) and San Jose, CA ($10.15/hr) have increased their minimum wage rates separately from the state of California’s rate. You can check your state and local websites for additional information.
Remember to keep your posted labor law posters up-to-date. Have questions about minimum wage requirements, etc., in California? The Department of Labor recommends contacting the State of California Department of Industrial Relations.