Effective June 1, 2011, the new minimum wage in Florida is $7.31 per hour. The previous minimum wage was $7.25 per hour, which is the current federal minimum wage.
Florida employers must now also pay tipped employees a direct wage of $4.29 (calculated as the minimum wage minus a tip credit of $3.02.) The state’s law requires the minimum wage for payroll to be calculated annually, based on the percentage change in the national Consumer Price Index for urban wage earners and clerical workers in the southern region.
For more information on the minimum wage change for employees on your payroll, read the notice from the State of Florida Agency for Workforce Innovation, which includes state and federal posting requirements.