Kansas New Employer Information
Federal and State Tax Accounts
Federal Tax Accounts:
- Although it is not required, we strongly recommend having an EFTPS account. By creating an account, you will have the ability to make tax payments online or view whatever tax filings have been made on your behalf by Patriot. You can easily register online and there is no charge to create an account.
- To find out more about the EFTPS, read our article, “What Is EFTPS?“
State of Kansas Tax Accounts:
- New employers can register online with the Kansas Business Center for their state income tax (SIT) account with the Department of Revenue.
- You will need to register online with the Department of Labor for a state unemployment insurance (SUI) account.
- Using this account, you will also be able to make payments, view the K-CNS 100, report new hires, and do other business requirements.
- Kansas new employers use 2.7% as their SUTA rate for 2019 and 2020. New construction employers use 6% for 2019 and 2020.
- You will be assigned a state unemployment tax assessment (SUTA) rate every year by the Kansas Department of Labor.
- For more information, read, “What Is SUTA Tax?”
- Although not required for setting up payroll, Kansas requires almost all employers except for few employment categories or those with a gross annual payroll of $20,000 or less to carry Worker’s Compensation Insurance. Please visit the Kansas Department of Labor for exclusions and details for Kansas Worker’s compensation requirements.
- Patriot offers free Pay-as-You-Go Worker’s Compensation integrationthrough our partner AP Intego. All of the compliance and none of the hassle. You can request a quote right from the software!
Setting Up Your New Employee:
- Form I-9 is required by law for all employers in the USA. This is a two-part form. The first half is to be filled out by the employee, while the second half is filled out by the employer.
- You must keep each employee’s completed Form I-9 as long as the individual works for you. For more information, read, “What Should Be in an Employee File?”
- You may want to enroll in E-verify and submit employee information, although it is not required. For more information, read our help article, “What Is E-Verify?”
- Have each employee fill out Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate, for federal income taxes (FIT).
- For more information, read our help article, “Updates to the Income Tax Withholding Tables and What You Need to Know”
- Use Form K-4, Kansas Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate state income taxes (SIT).
- Kansas employers must follow the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.
- You will need to display the minimum wage poster for your employees, as required by law.
Once you have all the necessary information, you will be able to set up your payroll for your business.
Keep employee payroll records for at least three years. For more information, read our help article, “What Employers Should Know About Employee Payroll Records”
Let us know if you have any questions. We are here to help!