Georgia New Employer Information
Federal and State Tax Accounts
Federal Tax Accounts:
- The Employer Identification Number (aka EIN or FEIN) is a unique nine digit number assigned to your business by the IRS. Please read “What Is an FEIN?”
- If you don’t already have one, you will need to apply for an Employer Identification Number. The simplest way is to apply for an EIN with the IRS online. There is no cost to apply for an EIN.
- To read more about applying for an EIN, read our help article, “How to apply for an EIN”
- Although it is not mandatory, we recommend you enroll in the EFTPS (Electronic Federal Tax Payment System). You can easily register online. You will need to have this account to make tax payments online, or view whatever tax filings have been made on your behalf by Patriot.
- To find out more about the EFTPS, read our article, “What Is EFTPS?”
State of Georgia Tax Accounts:
- You will need to register with the Georgia Department of Revenue for a withholding tax account number, also known as State Income Tax (SIT).
- New employers in Georgia can register online here. When you get to the page, select the business section at the bottom and choose “register a new business”. From there, you will be taken through the signup process.
Georgia new employers also need to register online with the Georgia Department of Labor for a state unemployment tax account number. You can also open a Georgia Unemployment Tax Account by completing DOL-1A and mailing it to:
Georgia Department of Labor
P. O. Box 740234
Atlanta, GA 30374-0234
- The Georgia new employer SUTA rate is 2.7%.
- You will be given a State Unemployment Tax Act rate every year in late December. Rates are determined by the Georgia Department of Labor.
- For more information, read our help article “What Is SUTA Tax?”
Setting Up Your New Employee:
- The Form I-9 is required by law for new employees. This is a two-part form. The first part will be filled out by the employee and the second by you, the employer. For more information, read “What Is Form I-9?”
- You must keep each employee’s completed Form I-9 as long as the individual works for you. For more information, read “What Should Be in an Employee File?”
- Have your new employee fill out Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate, for federal income taxes (FIT).
- For more information, read our help article, “Updates to the Income Tax Withholding Tables and What You Need to Know”
- Have your new employee fill out Form G-4, Georgia Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate for state income tax (SIT).
- When you are paying employees in Georgia, you will need to set up their tax allowances as they indicated on their tax withholding form. For more information, read, Georgia Employee Tax Withholding Help.
You are required to report all new hires within 10 days from the date of hire or rehire.
- Georgia employers must follow the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.
- You need to display the federal minimum wage poster where your employees can read it.
Once you have all the necessary information, you will be able to set up your payroll for your business.
Please note that as an employer you will be required to keep employee payroll records for at least three years. For more information, read our help article, “What Employers Should Know About Employee Payroll Records”
Let us know if you have any questions. We are here to help!