Nevada New Employer Information
Federal and State Tax Accounts
Federal Tax Accounts:
- Apply for an Employer Identification number (also known as an EIN or FEIN) if you don’t already have one. The simplest (and preferred way) is to apply for an EIN with the IRS online. There is no cost to apply for an EIN.
- To read more about applying for an EIN, read our help article, “Your Step-by-step Guide on How to Apply for EIN”
- Although it is not required, we recommend that you register online for the EFTPS (Electronic Federal Tax Payment System).
- This account will be helpful for you to make tax payments online, or view whatever tax filings have been made on your behalf by Patriot. To find out more about the EFTPS, please read our article, “What Is EFTPS?”
State of Nevada Tax Accounts:
- Register as a Nevada new employer online with Nevada’s Department of Employment, Training, and Rehabilitation.
- This account will be necessary for filing your state unemployment insurance (SUI) taxes.
- The Nevada new employer SUTA rate is 2.95% for 2023.
- Employers in Nevada will receive a new State Unemployment Tax Assessment (SUTA) rate every year.
- To learn more about SUTA, please read our article, “What Is SUTA Tax?”
Setting Up Your New Employee:
- Fill out the required Form I-9 for employee work verfication in the USA. This is a two part form to be filled out by the employee and employer. For more information, please read, “Form I-9 In a Nutshell”
- You must retain each employee’s completed Form I-9 as long as the individual works for you. For more information, please read, “What Should Be in an Employee File?”
- Employees need to fill out Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate for federal income taxes.
- For more information, read our help article, “Updates to the Income Tax Withholding Tables and What You Need to Know.”
- Nevada new employers need to report new hires within 20 days of hire or rehire. You can report online to the Nevada New Hire Reporting website.
- To learn more, please read, “What Is New Hire Reporting?”
- The current Nevada minimum wage is $9.50 per hour if the employee is insured (lower tier) and $10.50 per hour if the employee is not insured (higher tier). The state’s minimum wage will change July 1, 2023 to $10.25 for insured employees and $11.25 for uninsured. For more information, please visit the Office of the Labor Commissioner.
- By law, you are required to post the Rules to be Observed by Employers where your employees can read it.
Once you have all the necessary information, you will be able to set up your payroll for your business.
You will want to keep all payroll records for at least three years. For more information, please read our help article, “What Employers Should Know About Employee Payroll Records.”
Let us know if you have any questions. We are here to help!
Your feedback will not receive a reply. If you have a specific issue, please reach out to our support team here.