Missouri New Employer Information
Federal and State Tax Accounts
Federal Tax Accounts:
- Apply for an Employer Identification number (also known as an EIN or FEIN) if you don’t already have one. The simplest (and preferred way) is to apply for an EIN with the IRS online. There is no cost to apply for an EIN.
- To read more about applying for an EIN, read our help article, “Your Step-by-step Guide on How to Apply for EIN”
- Although it is not required, we recommend that you register for this federal tax paying system. You can easily register online. This account will be helpful for you to make tax payments online, or view whatever tax filings have been made on your behalf by Patriot.
- To find out more about the EFTPS, please read our article, “What Is EFTPS?”
State of Missouri Tax Accounts:
- You can register your business online using the Online Business Registration. This application will be sufficient for both your withholding taxes, also known as State Income Taxes (SIT), and your Unemployment Taxes, also known as State Unemployment Insurance (SUI).
- Employers in Missouri will receive a State Unemployment Tax Assessment (SUTA) rate every year.
- The Missouri new employer SUTA rate is 2.376% in 2021 for most industries. The exception is as follows:
- New employers in the nonprofit sector use 1.00% for 2021.
- To learn more about SUTA, please read our article, “What Is SUTA Tax?”
Setting Up Your New Employee:
- Employees need to fill out Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate, for federal income taxes.
- For more information, read our help article, “Updates to the Income Tax Withholding Tables and What You Need to Know”
- Employees should complete Form MO W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate for state income taxes (SIT).
- Missouri employers need to report new hires within 20 days of hire or rehire on either Form W-4 or an equivalent. Fax forms to 573-526-8079 or mail to:
Missouri Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 3340
Jefferson City, MO 65105-3340
- For more information, please visit the Missouri Department of Social Services.
- Missouri employers must comply with either federal and Missouri minimum wage laws, whichever is higher. Use the Missouri minimum wage law is of $10.30 per hour for 2021 and $9.45 per hour for 2020. Learn more at the Missouri Department of Labor Standards.
- By law you are required to post the minimum wage poster for Missouri where employees can read it.
Once you have all the necessary information, you will be able to set up your payroll for your business.
You will want to keep all payroll records for at least three years. For more information, please read our help article, “What Employers Should Know About Employee Payroll Records.”
Let us know if you have any questions. We are here to help!