Maine New Employer Information
Federal and State Tax Accounts
Federal Tax Accounts:
- Apply for an Employer Identification number (also known as an EIN or FEIN) if you don’t already have one. The simplest (and preferred way) is to apply for an EIN with the IRS online. There is no cost to apply for an EIN.
- To read more about applying for EIN’s, read our help article, “Your Step-by-step Guide on How to Apply for EIN”
- Although it is not required, we recommend new employers register for this federal tax paying system. You can easily register online. This account will be helpful for you to make tax payments online, or view whatever tax filings have been made on your behalf by Patriot.
- To find out more about the EFTPS, read our article, “What Is EFTPS?”
State of Maine Tax Accounts:
- Maine new employers will need to apply online at the Maine Employer Registration Internet System. You will be able to register here for both your state unemployment insurance (SUI) number, and your withholding account number for your state income taxes (SIT). You will receive your account numbers by mail.
- You will have the option of not only filing, but paying your taxes via Internet File. If it is your first time logging in, you will be sent through a registration process.
- The Maine new employer SUTA Tax rate is 1.97% for 2023. The new employer rate is combined with the Competitive Skills Scholarship Fund (CSSF) at 0.07% and the Unemployment Program Administrative Fund (UPAF) at 0.15% for a combined rate of 2.19%.
- For more information, visit the Maine Department of Labor.
- To learn more about SUTA Tax rates, read our article, “What Is SUTA Tax?”
Setting Up Your New Employee:
- Fill out the required Form I-9 for worker verification in the USA. For more information, read, “Form I-9 In a Nutshell”
- Note: You must retain each employee’s completed Form I-9 as long as the individual works for you. For more information, read “What Should Be in an Employee File?”
- Have your new employee fill out Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate for federal income taxes (FIT). For more information, read our help article, “Updates to the Income Tax Withholding Tables and What You Need to Know”
- Have your new employee fill out Form W-4ME, Maine Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate for state income taxes (SIT).
- Employers are required by law to report all new hires within 7 days from the date of hire or rehire. You can report new hires online with the Maine Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery.
- Maine employers must pay the minimum wage rate of $13.80 per hour in 2023. For more information, visit the Maine Department of Labor.
- You need to post the Maine minimum wage poster where your employees can read it.
Once you have all the necessary information, you will be able to set up your payroll for your business.
You will want to keep all payroll records for at least three years. For more information, read our help article, “What Employers Should Know About Employee Payroll Records”
Let us know if you have any questions. We are here to help!
This is not an all-inclusive list. Employers should contact their state and local government for a full list of compliances.
Your feedback will not receive a reply. If you have a specific issue, please reach out to our support team here.