Louisiana New Employer Information
Federal and State Tax Accounts
Federal Tax Accounts:
- If you don’t already have one, you will need to apply for an Employer Identification Number (also known as an EIN or FEIN). The simplest (and preferred way) is to apply for an EIN with the IRS online. There is no cost to apply for an EIN.
- To read more about applying for EIN’s, read our help article, “Your Step-by-step Guide on How to Apply for EIN”
- Although it is not mandatory, we recommend you enroll in EFTPS (Electronic Federal Tax Payment System). You can easily register online. You will need to have this account to make tax payments online, or view whatever tax filings have been made on your behalf by Patriot.
- To find out more about the EFTPS, read our article, “What Is EFTPS?”
State of Louisiana Tax Accounts:
- Lousiana new employers will need to register their businesses online with the Louisiana Department of Revenue for a state income tax (SIT) account.
- After you register, you will be sent an email within three business days. Once you log back in, with your application code and password, you will be able to access you Louisiana Revenue Account Number.
- Louisiana new employers will need to register online with the LA Workforce Commission to obtain a state unemployment insurance (SUI) tax account.
- You must have an EAN (employer account number) a.k.a State Identification Number (SID).
- All employers are required to file their SUI taxes electronically. Register for access to file electronically with an online account for the Wage and Tax Reporting Services.
- You will be assigned a tax rate based on the average rate for employers in the same industrial classification (NAICS code). You will be able to view your rate notices online through your LAWATS account. You will need to know your SUTA rate when setting up your payroll tax settings.
- For more information, visit the Louisiana Workforce Commission.
- To learn more about SUTA, read, “What Is SUTA Tax?”
Setting Up Your New Employee:
- Fill out the required Form I-9 for worker verification in the USA. The top portion of the I-9 is to be filled out by the employee. The bottom portion of the I-9 is to be filled out by the employer. For more information, read, “Form I-9 In a Nutshell”
- You will need to retain each employee’s completed Form I-9 as long as the individual works for you. For more information, read “What Should Be in an Employee File?”
- Have your new employee fill out Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate for federal income taxes.
- For more information, read our help article, “Updates to the Income Tax Withholding Tables and What You Need to Know”
- Have your new employee fill out Form L-4 Louisiana Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate for Louisiana state income taxes (SIT).
- By law, employers need to report all new hires within 20 days from the date of hire or rehire. You can report your new hires online with the Department of Children and Family Services.
- Be sure you have met the minimum wage requirements. Louisiana employers must follow the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.
- You need to display the federal minimum wage poster where your employees can read it.
Once you have all the necessary information, you will be able to set up your payroll for your business.
You will want to keep all payroll records for at least three years. For more information, read our help article, “What Employers Should Know About Employee Payroll Records”
Let us know if you have any questions. We are here to help!
Your feedback will not receive a reply. If you have a specific issue, please reach out to our support team here.