Florida New Employer Information
Federal and State Tax Accounts
Federal Tax Accounts:
- Your business will need to have an Employer Identification Number (also known as an EIN or FEIN), if you do not already have one.
- The simplest way is to apply for an EIN with the IRS online. There is no cost to apply for an EIN.
- To read more about applying for EINs, read our help article, “Your Step-by-step Guide on How to Apply for EIN”.
- Although it is not required, we recommend you enroll in the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System (EFTPS). You can register online for the EFTPS.
- To find out more about EFTPS, read our article, “What Is EFTPS?”
State of Florida Tax Accounts:
- You will need to create an account with the Florida Department of Revenue for your state reemployment tax account (aka state unemployment insurance). You can register online.
- If you have already registered with the Department of Revenue for other tax accounts, you will still need to go through the online registration to get a reemployment tax account.
- Enroll your business in e-Services with the Department of Revenue. This will be helpful when filing your taxes or viewing any tax payments made on your behalf by Patriot if you are a Full Service Payroll customer.
- If you have any questions, call the Florida Department of Revenue at 850-488-6800.
- The Florida new employers reemployment tax rate is 2.7% for 2023.
- New employers will stay at this rate for 10 quarters until liability can be established. The Reemployment Tax Rate Notice (RT-20) is mailed to each employer in December.
- Employers must post the Reemployment poster for employees to read.
- For more information, visit the Florida Department of Revenue website.
- To learn more about SUTA tax, please read our article, “What Is SUTA Tax?”
Setting Up Your New Employee:
- Federal law requires you and your employees to fill out Form I-9 for worker verfication in the USA. For more information, read “Form I-9 In a Nutshell”.
- You will need to keep Form I-9 as long as the individual works for you. For more information, read “What Should Be in an Employee File?”
- Have your new employee fill out Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Certificate, for federal income taxes (FIT).
- For more information, read our help article, “Updates to the Income Tax Withholding Tables and What You Need to Know”
- As an employer, you are required by law to report any new employees you have hired. You can report new hires online with the Florida New Hire Reporting Center within 20 days from the date of hire or rehire.
- To learn more about new hire reporting and employer responsibilities, read, “What Is New Hire Reporting?”
- The minimum wage in Florida is $11.00 until September 29, 2023 when it increases to $12.00.
- You need to display the Florida minimum wage poster where your employees can read it.
Intimidated by this? Try our partner, CorpNet, for state tax registration! Once you have all the necessary information, you will be able to set up your payroll for your business.
Be sure you are keeping accurate payroll records. Federal law requires you to keep employee payroll records for a minimum of three years. To learn more, read our help article, “What Employers Should Know About Employee Payroll Records”
This is not an all inclusive list for new employers. There may be other state requirements that are not covered here. Visit the Florida Department of Revenue website for more information.
Let us know if you have any questions. We are here to help!
Your feedback will not receive a reply. If you have a specific issue, please reach out to our support team here.