How to Edit, Void, or Delete Beginning Balances

Accounting Help

Your Accounting Software questions answered here

How to Edit, Void, or Delete Beginning Balances

If you find that you need to either edit, void or delete your beginning balance entries after you have completed your accounting setup, you can do this from your General Ledger report.  

To edit a beginning balance:


Reports > Accounting > Financial Reports > General Ledger.

  • Click on the  “Beginning Balances” entry you need to edit.
  • You will be taken to the Edit Journal Entry page.
    • Please note you may have reporting inconsistencies if you change the date, Accounts Receivable amount, or Accounts Payable Amount. Be sure to update your unpaid customer invoices or vendor bills accordingly.
  • Create a journal entry with the corrected amount. As with all journal entries, this edited entry will need to have debits and credits that balance before you can save the entry.
    For example, if you are editing the checking amount to increase it by $100 (debit) you will need to offset the $100 credit in another account. 
  • Once the journal entry is balanced, click the “Post Entry” button.

    You will be able to see edited beginning balance entries on the Modified Transaction Report. Reports > Accounting > Financial Reports> Modified Transactions

To void a beginning balance:

Reports > Accounting> Financial Reports> General Ledger.

  • Click on one of the beginning balance entries. Under the details column, click the three horizontal lines (details icon).
  • Click Void.
  • Note that all of your beginning balance entries will be voided at the same time.

    You will be able to see voided beginning balance entries on the Modified Transaction Report. Reports > Accounting > Financial Reports > Modified Transactions.

To delete a beginning balance:

Reports > Accounting > Financial Reports > General Ledger.

  • Click on one of the beginning balance entries. Under the details column, click the three horizontal lines (details icon).
  • Click Delete.
  • Note that all of your beginning balance entries will be deleted at the same time.

    You will be able to see deleted beginning balance entries on the Modified Transaction Report. Reports > Accounting > Financial Reports > Modified Transactions.

Was this page helpful?

Get Started
Try it free

Sign up today for a free, no-obligation 30-day trial.

Try It Free for 30 Days
Get Started
Take a demo

Kick the tires with a free self-guided demo.

Take a Self-Guided Demo