After the countdown. After the ball drops at midnight. When the new year starts, the minimum wage rate for New Jersey will go up.
The new minimum wage for the Garden State that goes into effect on January 1, 2014, is $8.25 per hour. That is $1.00 per hour more than the Federal minimum wage ($7.25).
An increase in the minimum wage can mean an increase in already-steep payroll expenses for employers. So it is more important than ever to be as smart as possible when making hiring decisions. With more than 20 years of experience, our hiring guide shares the process we use to find and retain good employees. Check it out … it’s free!
You may have questions about New Jersey’s minimum wage or other labor laws. In that case, consult the state’s Department of Labor and Workforce Development.