January in Vermont means snow, skis, … and an annual increase in the state minimum wage. Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage for Vermont climbs to $8.73 per hour.
Vermont is counted among the 21 states that pay an hourly rate higher than the Federal requirement ($7.25 per hour). By law, Vermont’s annual increase is based on the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index — or five percent — whichever is smaller. The Vermont Department of Labor maintains a website with additional information on its state labor laws.
One other thing … the rising costs of payroll make it more important than ever to spend those employee dollars wisely. So we have compiled a free hiring guide with the strategies that have been successful for us. Our 20+ years of trial and error may help you find the skilled, reliable, long-term employees that you need.