Archive | Small Business Training Center RSS feed for this section

Is My Small Business Required to Allow Paternity Leave?

Many states and the federal government require that some employers offer paternity leave. Unpaid leave. The employer gives a father time off under specific circumstances, though there is no requirement for the company to pay for this time off. The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which went into effect in August of 1993, provides […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }

When Can an Employee Take Parental Leave?

No parent should ever have to choose between their job and the needs of their families, including the duty of caring for children. Therefore, parental leave should be a benefit that all parents can request when needed—to care for a sick child, to take care of an education-related obligation, or for appointments related to the […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }

Payroll Taxes Cost U.S. Small Business Owners Valuable Time

Some U.S. small business owners are spending up to three workweeks per year just handling payroll taxes for their companies, according to a new survey by the National Small Business Association (NSBA). Results from the NSBA’s 2014 Small Business Taxation Survey showed that while 60% of small businesses handle payroll on their own, 11% spend more than […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }
irs forms 2013

The IRS Forms Are Here! The IRS Forms Are Here!

With the start of a new year, the IRS released some new forms for business owners and employers. Since many business owners liken tax matters to having teeth pulled, this post is a user-friendly list of reminders for four popular IRS forms! Please consult your tax professional for advice and detailed information. Or amaze your […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }

What Is the Minimum Wage in Your State for 2014?

As of December 29, 2013, fourteen states have announced an increase to their minimum wage, effective January 1, 2014 (with one exception). Arizona California (effective July 1, 2014) Colorado Connecticut Florida Missouri Montana New Jersey New York Ohio Oregon Rhode Island Vermont Washington state

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }

Attention Employers! Last Chance for Work Opportunity Tax Credit …

As a small business owner, you want to take advantage of any and all tax credit opportunities! Do you qualify for this tax credit? Employers can take advantage of a tax credit when they hire a qualified veteran. It is called the Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC), and it was extended to apply to qualified […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }
payroll regulations

How Much Do You Need to Take Out of an Employee’s Paycheck?

Each year, the answer changes. How much do you need to take out of your employees’ paychecks for Social Security and Medicare in 2014? This will get you started … Wage Base The Social Security wage base has increased to $117,000 in 2014 ($113,700 in 2013). As in prior years, there is no limit to the wages […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }

Washington State Increases Minimum Wage for 2014

Washington state, along with 20 other states, has set its minimum wage rate above the Federal requirement of $7.25 per hour. Effective January 1, 2014, Washington state’s minimum wage is $9.32 per hour. But wait! There’s more! The city of SeaTac, WA, has its own minimum wage of $15.00 per hour. For more details about legally […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }

Vermont Minimum Wage Is Increased for 2014

January in Vermont means snow, skis, … and an annual increase in the state minimum wage. Effective January 1, 2014, the minimum wage for Vermont climbs to $8.73 per hour. Vermont is counted among the 21 states that pay an hourly rate higher than the Federal requirement ($7.25 per hour). By law, Vermont’s annual increase is […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 1 }

Minimum Wage Raised for 2014 in Rhode Island

Effective January 1, 2014, Rhode Island’s minimum wage rate increases to $8.00 per hour. Rhode Island is one of 21 states that have the minimum wage higher than the federal minimum wage base of $7.25 per hour. How will the minimum wage increase affect Rhode Island employers? Will they be more determined than ever to find […]

Continue Reading · Comments { 0 }